Uncategorized

Using Google Forms for Standardized Testing Preparation

Slide01

Standardized testing can be just as overwhelming for the students as it can be for the teachers. As a 3rd grade teacher, this year will be my students’ first experience with standardized testing. I find that it’s a balance with making sure that they’re prepared for the assessment, while not making them feel anxious.

In my state, my students will take the PARCC testing which is computer based. Computer Based Tests can be anxiety prone, because now students need to be able to type their answers and have the computer skills to take the test. Because of this, I’ve tried to find “fun” ways to get them prepared for the testing.

While my students answer readers response questions all year, I’ve now had them start answering these questions electronically. I’ve developed a google form where my students can practice the RACE strategy to answering comprehension questions based on the whole-group reading we do every week in the classroom.

Slide03.jpg

At the beginning of the year, I taught my students the RACE strategy to responding to comprehension questions. Restate the answer, Answer all parts of the question, use Complete sentences (punctuation and capitals), and use Evidence in your answer. They will now use this strategy to answer the comprehension questions by typing their answers on the google form.

Screen Shot 2016-01-31 at 4.01.30 PM

I’ve also found that this activity is much less prep for me! I just print out the QR code and then I don’t have to worry about organizing any papers or having any papers lost in my classroom and I can see all of the students’ responses electronically from any tablet or computer.

I’ve created a RACE strategy poster FREEBIE in my TpT Store. Check it out here!

I’ve also made a Google Form with comprehension questions based on The Science Fair by Susan Wojciechowski. Check it out at my TpT Store!

Please comment below with any strategies you use to get your students ready for Standardized Testing!

 

Leave a comment