Bulletin Board · education · Language Arts · Reading · Word Cloud

Word Clouds Make Eye-Catching Bulletin Boards

 

image 2

Word Clouds are an easy and vibrant way to spruce up your next bulletin board! Word Clouds are an internet based activity where you insert specific words into the program. Then, you can change the font, size, color, and layout of how the words look. Some sites like http://www.taxedo.com has the option to put your words into specific shapes and images. The pictures shown on this bulletin board were produced on taxedo.com.

Other platforms that I’ve found easy to use are http://www.wordle.com and www.abcya.com/word_clouds.htm .

image 3

To match the sailing and underwater theme of my classroom, I decided to carry that through the theme of my bulletin board. The heading of my bulletin board is “3K IS CAUGHT ON GOOD BOOKS.” I then had each of the students write the title of their book on their fish and have it swim next to their word cloud.

Before typing the words into the online platform, I had students choose 1 book that they read throughout the year. Students chose books such as Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl, which we read in a guided reading group, or Smile by Raina Telgemeier which some students read independently.

Students then used a graphic organizer to write down 15 words that related to their books. Students chose words such as characters’ names, words that described the settings or themes of the stories, or words that described the problems or solutions of the story. Then, students chose an image that would match their book such as a fox or a smile.

Students then independently inputted their words into the program and chose the font, color, and layout of their word cloud. Finally, I printed, laminated, and added their word clouds to the bulletin board.

This bulletin board was a big hit at our Spring Open House where families come to see all of the great work the students have done so far in the year and the students loved showing off their word clouds!

To make this project even easier, I’ve made a product in my store with an editable heading that says “We Are Caught On Good Books.” Just print on colored paper and use! I’ve also added the graphic organizers that we used to brainstorm the words for our word clouds.

Check It Out At My TpT Store!

Leave a comment